“After surgery, this is our recommendation for the progression that you should use to return to running safely.”

I re-read the handout from my physical therapist. Basically she was telling me my marathon was akin to a major surgery. Brain surgery, maybe? as one of my friends suggested.

While the neuroma on my foot has improved with a Roma therapy;) my knees are still troublesome. And it bugs me. It used to be I could run for an hour and have a great workout. Now, I am pulling against over-sized rubber bands in the basement and calling it exercise. I spent ninety minutes yesterday doing the mild-mannered activities my physical therapist recommended.

I feel like I am recovering from surgery.

My physical therapist wants to set me up with orthopedic inserts for my running shoes. I was hesitant. I told her that I wanted to actually fix the problem, so I can run pain-free. She grinned and said, “How refreshing! A patient who wants to be healthy, rather than someone looking to pop a pill!”

I don’t want a band-aid. I want to correct the problem for good, so I can run marathons with my grand-kids.

Healing my knees is going to be a long-term process. Not only do I need to develop muscle in places I usually avoid looking at, but I need heroic amounts of patience.

Every time I stretch that band, or do a lunge that could be measured in millimeters, I am helping my knees to get better. I just have to repeat that to myself over, and over, and over…aghhh!!!!

Every American impulse left in my expat body is screaming for a quick fix: a fad diet! a new exercise! new shoes! bionic knees!

But there is no quick fix.  Only through long-term dedication can I fix my knees.

I am fairly certain I have just discovered something more difficult than running a marathon.  

Patience.

 

Stats:

Minutes of cardio: 20

Core training: 50 minutes (with resistance bands)

Strength training: 20 minutes (weight lifting)

Kids popping in and out to stare at me: 4

