Why run? There are the obvious health reasons. Running improves cardiovascular, muscular, skeletal, mental, and emotional health.

Why run? Some people run because they have something to prove, to themselves or to others. Others run marathons because they crave the self-discipline that comes with the training schedule. Some run because they seek a healthy lifestyle. Others are running away from middle age.

Why run? Aside from a few Tae Kwon Do trophies in high school, I’ve never won any prizes for my athletic abilities. I remember running a race in junior high. I eagerly looked to the coach  and asked, “How did I do?” He said, “You were slow, but we needed somebody.” Basically, I was the next step-up from forfeiting. So, maybe I do have something to prove.

 Why run? How many people do you know with high blood pressure or high cholesterol? How many have suffered heart attack or stroke? How many are trapped by obesity? How many have diabetes? My dad’s wife, Mama, is tormented by fibromyalgia; while my biological mother struggles with chronic-progressive multiple sclerosis. One of my aunts has been fighting for her life this year: cancer–after a lifetime of dealing with epilepsy. My sister-in-law was also recently diagnosed with cancer. She’s my age. My kids stair-step hers in age. She accomplishes more than most of us by getting out of bed to face her day.

 When I run, I am carrying all of them with me.

 Why run? Because they can’t.

 Why run? Because I can.

